My Pure·Delight – NMB48 in the AKB48 27th Single Senbatsu Election

This morning (last night in Japan) the results for AKB48’s 27th Single Senbatsu Election were finally announced and like many others from my timezone (US EST), I woke up early to watch every single on the live YouTube stream. Compared to last year, I really enjoyed this year’s election. There were many interesting moments to note from this year’s 64 member field from SKE48 dominating Undergirls to Umeda Ayaka (Ume-chan) finally making Senbatsu to Sashihara Rino (Sasshi) crashing the Top 4. And of course, I was happy to see my own kami-oshi Minegishi Minami (Miichan) move up a spot to #14 and make Senbatsu once again. Two of my votes to here. And I was thrilled to see NMB48 get 5 members into the Top 64.

18. Yamamoto Sayaka (23,020 votes)
19. Watanabe Miyuki (19,159 votes)
43. Fukumoto Aina (6,912 votes)
46. Yamada Nana (6,683 votes)
60. Ogasawara Mayu (5,919 votes)

Yamamoto Sayaka (Sayanee) and Watanabe Miyuki (Milky) in Undergirls, Fukumoto Aina (Ai-nyan) and Yamada Nana (Nana) in Next Girls, and Ogasawara Mayu (Maachun) in Future Girls. I’m a bit sad Maachun dropped so much from her #30 preliminary results ranking, but making Top 64 is still absolutely great for her. Ai-nyan managed to climb from her #55 ranking to past both Maachun and Nana to be the 3rd highest ranked NMB member. Still happy to see my NMB oshi Nana make Next Girls with Ai-nyan. It’s a great honor for both of them. And I’m slightly disappointed that Sayanee and Milky couldn’t crack senbatsu or lead Undergirls, but they both have high Undergirls positions, so I’m happy to see the two most popular members of NMB doing well.

As I said before, I’m also slightly concerned with the lack of a Team M or NMB KKS presence, but I expect their time to come later in any possible future elections. I really want Team M members Jo Eriko (Jo) and Shimada Rena (Shimarena) to rank in the election in the future.

Congratulations to all the Top 64 members for the AKB48 27th Single Senbatsu Election.

NMB members’ speeches from AKB48’s official YouTube channel after the jump. (Might be up for a limited time apparently)





Leave a Reply

