My Pure·NMB48 – Nagiichi’s Battle for #1

I’m not sure how coherent or what purpose this post will have. But I just felt like writing something.

With this week’s Oricon single battle seemingly over between Nogizaka46 and Sashihara Rino (Sasshi), my focus turns to the next ***48 single set to release on May 9th: NMB48’s 4th single Nagiichi.

A little under 10 months ago, on July 20th, 2011, NMB48 released their debut single Zetsumetsu Kurokami Shoujo. Releasing on the same week was Tohoshinki’s 2nd Japanese single Superstar. There was real doubt that NMB48 would be able to debut at #1, but the group announced that if they didn’t end up #1 for the week, they would wear bloomers at one of their theater performances. Zetsumetsu Kurokami Shoujo would go on to sell 131,654 copies on its first day, eventually ending up with 218,441 sold copies for the week and the #1 weekly slot on Oricon.

NMB48’s 2nd and 3rd singles Oh My God! and Junjou U-19 would continue NMB48’s success, which each outselling its predecessor’s 1st week sales and gaining the #1 spot for the week. And now NMB48’s Nagiichi will go against Arashi’s Face Down for #1. I admit wholeheartedly that I really don’t know anything about Arashi other than the fact that their previous single Wild at Heart sold 550,014 copies in its first week.

The belief is that Arashi will prevent NMB48 from getting their 4th consecutive #1 single, but I’m keeping my faith in NMB48 and I’m doing my best to support NMB. I myself have bought Type A & B & C of Nagiichi, the very first ***48 single I’ve bought all three types of. To me, Nagiichi is another great NMB single and I’m hoping that the single sells really well.

So yeah, in the end, all I wanted to say really was this. Go NMB48!

2 responses to “My Pure·NMB48 – Nagiichi’s Battle for #1

  1. i feel like arashi and nmb48 is not really a true battle because they appeal to completely different fans, which is why i’m not really concerned… like rallying the fans who like apples vs. the fans who like oranges.

    ugh my analogy mechanism is broken today. haha =)

  2. Pingback: Recommended Reading: May 8th, 2012 | Idolminded

Leave a Reply

