My Pure·Wish for More Team M Promotion

Being an NMB48 fan, I was obviously quite happy to see Yamamoto Sayaka (Sayanee), Watanabe Miyuki (Milky), Fukumoto Aina (Ai-nyan), Yamada Nana (Nana), and Ogasawara Mayu (Maachun) make the Top 64 in the AKB48 27th Single Senbatsu Election. But one of things that you can easily observe is that those five members all come from the same team that dominates NMB48, Team N. Absent from the election results were any members from NMB48’s less popular and less promoted team, Team M.

I will openly admit that I am a Team N oshi, but Team M is pretty awesome as well. I really wish Team M would start to get more promotion to help the team gain more popularity. I think that there a few easy (obvious?) things that management could possibly do to help more people find out the awesomeness of Team M.

  • More Team M members in senbatsu. The four NMB singles released so far have had Team N heavy senbatsu. NMB48’s latest single Nagiichi had 11 Team N members compared to 5 Team M members. I love Team N, but it might be best for the group to add more Team M members to senbatsu. Not only would they get some screen time in the next single PV, it would get the Team M members some valuable TV time on Docking48!.
  • Mayonaka Panchy/Jouhou wo Hunting Team M version. When I was first learning about NMB48, I loved watching the short Mayonaka Panchy and Jouhou wo Hunting episodes. They were short and simple and helped me learn a little bit about the individual 1st Gen NMB members. Plus, they showed the girls performing their catchphrases, which always stuck with me and helped me remember the girls and want to find more info about them. Ai-nyan hadouhou, anyone?
  • Naniwa Nadeshiko Season 2. I first found out about members like Jo Eriko (Jo), Murakami Ayaka (Ayachan), and Yagura Fuuka (Fuuchan) on Naniwa Nadeshiko. I’m still convinced that Naniwa Nadeshiko is the best ***48 TV show ever made and a second season would do wonders to promote more Team M members. More variety, more games, more fun. And a second cosplay episode with Kinoshita Momoka (Kinoshita) would be a must-watch.
  • NMB Stage LODs. I want to watch M1 already, dammit. Oh, and N3 (whenever it starts) as well. Make this happen already.

One response to “My Pure·Wish for More Team M Promotion

  1. I wonder how Team M will turn out. Remember that they only just formed in January.

    With that said, sometimes I wish that NMB48 was just Team N. They were great when it was just them. It was easier to focus on a group of 16 than it is with 32 and counting…

    Momoka got the loudest cheers when Team M walked on stage, though they were nowhere near as loud as Team N/Team S/AKB Teams.

Leave a Reply

