My Pure·Hopes – NMB in AKB48’s 32th Single Senbatsu Election

In just under two months from now, on August 8th, 2013, AKB48’s 32th Single Senbatsu Election will be taking place. The election will determine the Senbatsu (Rank #1-16), Undergirls (Rank #17-32), Next Girls (Rank #33-48), and Future Girls (Rank #49-64) for the 32th AKB48 single. It will be the 5th General AKB election overall, my 3rd election since I’ve joined the 48 fandom. And for the most part, I’m feeling a little apathetic towards the whole election. I don’t know if I can bring myself to care as much for this year’s election as I have for the previous two years. That said, when the election comes around, I’ll probably be my same anxious self awaiting the results, hopeful for favorable results.

Of course, as a Minegishi Minami (Miichan) oshi, I hope she does well in the election. I don’t expect her to keep her senbatsu position, but I don’t see her falling any lower than Undergirls. No matter where she ranks, I’ll be proud of her and I hope we’ll be able to see her smile when she gives her acceptance speech. And yes, she will be getting some votes from me.

Also, as a NMB fan, I’ll be rooting for them to rank up and rank often in this election. Among the NMB members, Team N member Kishino Rika (Rika-nyan) and Team M members Koyanagi Arisa (Arii) and Yamamoto Hitomi (Hitomin) will not participate in the election, along with Team N graduates in the near-future Fukumoto Aina (Ai-nyan) and Shinohara Kanna (Kanchiru).

It seems pretty secure for me that the five NMB members (I’m including Yuihan here and excluding Ai-nyan here) who ranked last year will do so again. I see Yokoyama Yui (Yuihan) holding down her position in senbatsu. I expect both Watanabe Miyuki (Milky) and Yamamoto Sayaka (Sayanee) to challnege for senbatsu and ultimately I think Sayanee will make join Yuihan in senbatsu. I think Yamada Nana (Nana) will jump from Next Girls up to a Undergirls position and  Ogasawara Mayu (Maachun) will take her Next Girls spot, moving up form her Future Girls ranking last year.

As for new NMB entries in the election this year, I see Yoshida Akari (Akarin) and Yagura Fuuko (Fuuchan) as the most likely members to be added in. When Zetsumetsu Kurokami Shoujo cames out, Akarin was originally a Top 5 NMB member, so I’m hoping to see her rank. And after Jo Eriko (Jo) and the rest of Team M didn’t rank last year, I can see the finally pushed once again Fuuchan grabbing a Future Girls spot. I’m also hopeful that maybe concurrent AKB and NMB member Kotani Riho (Ripopo) and Team BII ace Yabushita Shu (Shuu) can jump into the rankings. And lastly, I’m rooting for my NMB oshi, Shimada Rena (Shimarena). Like Miichan, Shimarena will be getting my votes as well.

Time to purchase some voting tickets (comes with a AKB single), I guess.

Pics of the participating NMB members after the jump.

2 responses to “My Pure·Hopes – NMB in AKB48’s 32th Single Senbatsu Election

  1. The limited editions sold out within hours the first day they were listed at cdjapan…i managed to order in time but I’d like to think that even the regular editions will have voting tickets although the cdjapan description doesn’t say they will because that would make no sense as you’d surely want as many potential voters as possible.

    • Yeah, pretty sure that the voting tickets are in all the limited, regular, and theater editions. The only problem I’m having now is trying to determine how many copies to buy. Decisions, decisions.

Leave a Reply

