My Pure·First Impression – Okuba/Yaban na Softcream/Hinadande wa Boku no Miryoku wa Ikinainda PV Previews

On NMB48′s official YouTube channel, the short preview PVs for the 7th single Shirogumi and Akagumi tracks along with the short preview PV for the Namba Teppoutai Sono San have been uploaded this week. The Shirogumi track is titled Okuba, the Akagumi track is titled Yaban na Softcream, and the Namba Neppoutai Sono San track is titled Hinadande wa Boku no Miryoku wa Ikinainda. To be honest, my first impression is that this is one of the weaker singles in terms of B-side tracks.

The lineups for Shirogumi, Akagumi, and Namba Teppoutai Sono San:

Team N: Ogasawara Mayu, Kishino Rika, Kinoshita Haruna, Kadowaki Kanako, Yamaguchi Yuuki, Yamamoto Sayaka
Team M: Azuma Yuki, Murakami Ayaka, Yamagishi Natsumi, Yamada Nana
Team BII: Kamieda Emika, Kusaka Konomi

Team N: Ichikawa Miori, Koga Narumi, Kondo Rina, Watanabe Miyuki
Team M: Okita Ayaka, Kawakami Rena, Kinoshita Momoka, Mita Mao, Yagura Fuuko
Team BII: Kurokawa Hazuki, Kobayashi Rikako, Muro Kanako

Namba Teppoutai Sono San
Team N: Shiroma Miru, Nishimura Aika
Team M: Murase Sae, Yogi Keira
Team BII: Akazawa Hono, Ota Yuuri, Kushiro Rina
4th Gen KKS: Shibuya Nagisa

I haven’t been the biggest fan of Shirogumi tracks in the past and Okuba doesn’t instill any new hopes of that changing. The song is a slow ballad that just never seems to drag and drag without reaching any kind of high point. It doesn’t conjure up lovely memories like 12/31 did. Okuba just seems like a snoozer and the PV (which has the girls as members of a choir group) doesn’t add much in terms of excitement, except for the a nice cameo by former NMB concurrent member Yokoyama Yui (Yuihan).

The Akagumi PV Yaban na Softcream is a lot more upbeat than the Okuba PV (and this case, a whole lot better). Just the topic itself (soft ice cream) makes one happy and to see a smiling Watanabe Miyuki (Milky) eating ice cream is jsut heaven. Also of note, Ichikawa Miori (Miorin) is featured as the welcomed, transfer student  in the PV. When Miorin’s concurrency in NMB was announced, I didn’t know how she would fit in. But she seems to be fitting in well in NMB so far.

The last B-side is the Namba Teppoutai Sono San track Hinadande wa Boku no Miryoku wa Ikinainda. It seems to be dually led by Team M member Yogi Keira (Keira) and Team N member Shiroma Miru (Mirurun). The song isn’t anything spectacular, but the PV is what’s most memorable about Hinadande wa Boku no Miryoku wa Ikinainda. The PV is inspired by the old school idol style of the past and the contrast of the up-and-coming NMB girls being featured in a PV reminiscent of idols in the 1970s and 80s just works perfectly.

The new Shirogumi, Akagumi, and Namba Teppoutai Sono San songs will be featured in Type-A, Type-B, and Type-C of NMB48′s 7th single, respectively. NMB48′s 7th single, Bokura no Eureka, releases on June 19th.